A San Diego based food blog showing the restaurants, shops, events, and anything food related.

Whisknladle

Long weekends are best spent either doing a short weekend trip, or just staying in town and enjoying a slower pace of life.  Being that we live in San Diego, we were blessed with some great weather the past couple of days!

After a day at the ballpark to watch the Padres win against the Nationals, CP and I went to downtown La Jolla for dinner at Whisknladle.

The restaurant has a nice open patio dining area and I think some additional indoor seating.  From the outside, you could even see into the kitchen where they prepare all their fresh, simple and delicious food.

Menu

The menu’s small and offers the variety of land and sea.

Bread & Butter

Sliced baguette with herb butter starts off your dinner.  They must purchased the baguettes in the morning because by the time we had ours in the evening, you could tell it’s been around since the day’s beginning.  Still delicious with a little butter!

We each got an appetizer of salads.  CP ordered the Caesar:

Caesar Salad

Whole romaine hearts that were lightly tossed with a tangy Caesar salad dressing came out on the plate, topped with Parmigiano-Reggiano and croutons.  This cut-it-yourself salads are just so popular now.  I mean, I know I’m a big girl and I can cut my own vegetables, but sometimes I just want my salad to be cut for me already!  Anyways, the romaine was really nice and crisp, yet their dressing was a little too tangy for my preference.

Crows Pass Farm Greens Salad

I ordered the Crows Pass Farm Greens Salad.  Mixed baby romaine with radishes, tossed in a balsamic vinaigrette dressing, topped with baked goat cheese. They had actually forgotten to put goat cheese on top before sending out the salad, so they brought out the cheese for me.  Good thing because I was wondering where was my promised goat cheese that I love so much!  However, this goat cheese was somewhat crumbly and not like the smooth goat cheeses that I prefer.  Still a pretty decent salad overall, but I don’t think I would order it again.

Tagliatelle Bolognese

For CP’s entree, he ordered the full Tagliatelle Bolognese.  The tagliatelle was cooked to al dente and the tomato based sauce was filled with braised beef, porcini mushrooms, and rosemary.  Normally, there would be a healthy sprinkling of Parmigianino, but CP requested for no cheese for his dish.

Seared Scallops

I had the half order of the Seared Maine Scallops with creamed corn, bacon, and pickled shallots.  The scallops were seared with a little bit of salt and pepper to perfection.  As CP had put it, “I just love how it melts in your mouth.”  My thoughts exactly.  This is how one handles scallops – tenderly and loving and perfected in a hot pan. The creamed corn with bacon was delicious too! Sweet corn with a little salt from the bacon, mirrored the sweet scallop with the little salt it was seared with.  Next time, I will just get the full order of this entree and get a dessert!

Whisknladle is a worthwhile to check out.  They definitely have an eye and tongue for how their dishes look and taste, utilizing what nature had already given us to begin with.

Whisknladle

1044 Wall St
La Jolla, CA 92037

(858) 551-7575

3 responses

  1. Really decent post… I love it. Keep ‘em coming… :)

    May 31, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    • May-chan

      I’ll keep on eating then! So I can keep on posting! ^_^

      July 13, 2010 at 6:03 am

  2. Those scallops look really amazing. It’s nice when you get them done right!

    June 11, 2010 at 2:51 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers