To feed your body and soul in San Diego and all over the world

First days of work…

Last week, I started work in Downtown San Diego…oh man, my bank account’s going to SUFFER. A good portion of my paycheck will go towards just food! Well, I’ll try to remember to take as many pictures as possible. I’ve yet to explain to my co-workers that I take pictures of food for my food art collection and this blog. Not quite sure how I should break the ice.

This was a salad I got from a really nice little cafe down a couple blocks from work. It was a spinach salad with Gorgonzola, candied walnuts, and house-made croûtons tossed with a raspberry vinegarette. Accompanying the salad was a giant slice of really good, toasted bread. I don’t remember what kind of bread it was, but it was so delicious. And there were huge pieces of gorgonzola in the salad that I took and spread on the bread. Delicious!

543989804_2d853f9f8b.jpg

And here’s actually my dinner from a sushi restaurant near my school, SDSU. It was called “Monkey Brain” and I was intrigued. It also helps that I saw a blog post by Cathy on mmm-yoso, so….I got it. And oh my….I’m not quite sure what to say about this. It was good, but something felt like it was missing. Could it be my desire for rice? Hmmm….

543989842_1d6c10ec44.jpg

One thing that I couldn’t take a picture of was my trip to Durband, a persian restaurant on 5th Ave. I had heard of their tiramisu and decided to try it….I WILL be back again for another slice because it was just heavenly! It was one of the best tiramisu I’ve had in a long time. There was enough coffee flavoring, had just the right amount of coco powder, and it even had a little drizzle of caramel sauce on top I believe? Even tho that last item isn’t traditional, it tasted fabulous on it! But once again, not enough liquor…where’s my liquor?! I’m ashamed to say that there has been only one place that had given me the level of liquor I desire in a tiramisu and that is…..*ahem*cheesecakefactory*ahem*

Anyway…I will definitely go back and get another slice of the tiramisu and this time, I will get pictures for it! Promise.

2 responses

  1. There was a reason I ate no carbs in that meal at Tokyo Sushi…nothing to do with losing weight or a diet. The Monkey Brains fit in quite well to that requirement.

    You can find lots of coupons and discounts and specials for downtown food places.

    Tell everyone you are taking a photography class. It is so much easier than explaining you let complete strangers look in on what you eat. Trust me. 🙂 Nice blog.

    June 16, 2007 at 6:26 pm

  2. May-chan

    Haha…I didn’t think of that! That would be the perfect line to tell them =), thanks!

    And now that I have a parking permit, I can drive my car to places a bit further for lunch if need be! Time to hunt for coupons!!

    June 16, 2007 at 6:42 pm

Leave a Reply

