To feed your body and soul in San Diego and all over the world

Sizzling

It’s hot. It’s way too hot for San Diego. People LEAVE their hometowns to come to San Diego to escape this kind of searing, sticky, heavy heat that we have been experiencing lately. And on top of that, I no longer have the comforts of an office with air conditioning. Now I’m back to my A/C-less house, car, and nature. I think having air conditioning is really the only thing drawing me to school right now. Heck, I even spent a majority of my free time in the library today just so I could escape the heat. Did some reading for class, spent time with my sweetie, and took in my $XXXX worth of tuition in air conditioning. But what was I missing?….

1273881196_7342a88642.jpg

GELATO!

This was taken a few weeks back, but this was what I needed this whole week. Two scoops of excellent, creamy, flavor intense coolness. On that day, I had a scoop of the strawberry and mint stracciatella on a wafer cone.

If you look closely, you can see the strawberry seeds throughout the gelato. And before you ask me, “Why did you combine fruit and mint gelato together???”…Try it for yourself! It works really well, so don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it!

Plus, I was going for a theme: “refreshing.” The fruit gelato was a refreshing contrast to the creamy vanilla-based stracciatella and the mint from the stracciatella was not overpowering like toothpaste. Rather, it was soft and played well in the background with all the flavors.

I really wish gelaterias were everywhere. Preferably within a half mile radius of my usual haunts…which will be at State for the next 4 months. *Sigh*

2 responses

  1. dan

    I had a similar thought last night as I was outvoted 2-1 to try Yougart, yet another crackberry shop that’s opened around the neighborhood. Why couldn’t these places be gelaterias? Why are all the gelaterias so far away? Why aren’t gelaterias at least in the malls? Moms, gfs, wifes (and even outvoted husbands) can then use the line, “Want to get some gelato?” as an excuse for going to the mall. I might even say, “Maybe.”

    August 30, 2007 at 4:57 pm

  2. May-chan

    Hi Dan! Next time if your wife, mom, gf or sister – whoever – wants to get gelato and do some shopping, head down to Horton Plaza and walk about 4-5 blocks south to Gelateria Frizzante on Island Ave. Your best bet in combining some of the best things in this world.

    September 21, 2007 at 4:47 am

Leave a Reply

