To feed your body and soul in San Diego and all over the world

Stressful times calls for cookies

2297152357_5dd07d883e.jpg

The cure all for trauma victims

I just finished with my first accounting midterm this semester and it was the worst thing EVER. I spent 48+ hours, locked in my house, trying disparately to read and memore 600+ pages worth of material. To make matters worse, the exam was written by the class. We all had to write multiple choice questions on different subtopics and the professor would choose and compile 50 of them together for us.

Let me just tell you that in all of my academia life, I have never guessed on so much of the exam’s questions as I did last night. It was pathetic and yet somehow…I wasn’t surprised. When you let students write questions for an exam, it’s a definite formula for disaster! Ugh…

So what did I do after such an ordeal?……BAKE COOKIES!!!

2297946160_77ee904244.jpg

Chocolate chip cookies with blueberries and coconut

Stress drives different people to do different things. Some are driven to clean, drink, gamble, or maybe fight. For me, stress makes me want to bake bake BAKE! (As well as bang my head on the table)

I had been craving really good chocolate chip cookies for a few days now. This is actually a new craving for me. I love chocolate chip cookies, but it has never been a craving of mine. However, I knew that after that horrific exam, I should do the only thing that I knew I could do right: bake up a batch of delightful cookies.

The recipe was from Allrecipes.com that I had come across when I was browsing the net. What was strange with this cookie recipe was that it called for a pack of instant vanilla pudding mix. This makes the cookies softer and chewier, which is how I like my cookies. And chocolate chip cookies are pretty versatile because after your basic dough plus chocolate chips, you can add a variety of other ingredients to make the cookies your own.

For all my cookies, I added dried blueberries and used dark chocolate chips (instead of the traditional semi-sweet). Then I divided the dough into thirds and incorporated different additions:

  1. sliced almonds
  2. coconut
  3. peanut butter chips

Each addition made each cookie different from one another. The almond batch was much more firmer of the three. And since I used sliced almonds (that was all that I had on hand), it gave the cookie a really neat layered look after you bite into them.

2297946098_7bd044fceb.jpg

The coconut cookies were the moistest and softest cookies. It sweetened the cookie overall which worked out really well since the bitterness of the dark chocolate was paired off with the coconut. My general opinion is that people don’t give coconut enough support, but I do admit that it truly is one of those things that you either like or dislike (I used to be in the latter category when I was younger).

Last, but not least, were the peanut butter chip add-ins. Now, find me a person who cannot love the marriage of peanut butter and chocolate. Granted, unless you’re allergic to peanuts, you can NEVER go wrong with this duo. I mean, peanut butter was nothing until it found its way to chocolate. Once this wondrous event occurred, the universe was finally at peace and in harmony. Yes…I do love my peanut butter that much. If I could, I would put peanut butter on everything!

2297152307_080e7e23fd.jpg

Ahhh….right out of the oven freshly baked cookie.

Currently as I write this post, I am waiting for my grade on the exam which if I am LUCKY, I will pass with the curve. I don’t think even cookies could help if I don’t…….*cries because the thought of not passing the class is frightening and stressful*

Well crying over this won’t help….so I’ll be a big girl and take life as it hits me like a giant firetruck. Or a rhino…or an avalanche of accounting textbooks. @.@ At least I’ll have these cookies as I go down!

4 responses

  1. Liz

    the cookies look absolutely scrumptious!

    March 13, 2008 at 7:03 pm

  2. May-chan

    Thanks! 🙂

    March 15, 2008 at 5:33 am

  3. KitchenGoddess83

    They look gorgeous, any left? 😉

    May 3, 2008 at 4:20 pm

  4. May-chan

    Thanks! Unfortunately…no, there is none. However i am seriously stressed out right now and would love to have some 🙂

    May 3, 2008 at 7:00 pm

Leave a Reply

