To feed your body and soul in San Diego and all over the world

Elizabethan Desserts

As the website title says, “Tasty Goodness in Every Bite!”

When you search for desserts, cakes, and anything  baked in the San Diego County and the surrounding areas, Elizabethan Desserts will most likely come up in your search.  This place is hidden in the Sunshine Gardens nursery up in Encinitas, not far off the I-5 freeway on Encinitas boulevard.  At first I thought we thought we took a wrong turn, but then we saw the little sign…the sign of sweets to come!

Ah yes, my pretties…starting from the bottom left and going clockwise: Passionfruit Vanilla (special of the day), Red Velvet, Butter Cake, Almost Karot Cake, and the Peanut Butter Wag.

When researching for what the favorite was here, a lot of people gave good reviews for the Red Velvet.  Maybe I came an off day since I honestly did not like it.  The cake was too dry, the cream cheese frosting was not creamy enough, and it tasted kind of sub-par.  I was a little sadden by this.

However, the other cupcakes were much better.  They were moist, soft, and filled with flavor!  Of the cupcakes, my favorite was the PB Wig!  A devil food cupcake, topped with peanut butter frosting, then dipped in a chocolate ganache and capped with peanuts!  Just to make it all the more visually appealing – add some white chocolate drizzle.  It was a chocolate, peanut butter orgy in my mouth (I am drooling from the thought of it).

The passionfruit and carrot cake cupcakes were both good, but there was nothing that made them stand out for me.  They were just kind of the middle road cupcakes.

The surprise was the butter cake.  Oh jeebez…you know there’s pounds upon pounds of butter going into the batches of this cake.  The fork easily dived into the soft, thick goodness and melted oh so amazingly in your mouth.  I only wish I had some ice cream to go with all of these!

I knew from the beginning that I needed help because there would be too much that I’d want to try!  Thus, I had my sister and best friend help me with this sweets overload.  After we demolished what we could…this was the aftermath.

There were plenty of other items to try aside from the cupcakes including cookies as big as a baby’s head, dessert bars, chocolate dipped cheesecake, pies, and pastries.  The hardest thing about Elizabethan Dessert is deciding what to get on your first trip! (…and possibly all subsequent trips)

Since our first visit, my friend has brought her sister and brother and they have had more of the wonderful baked goodies.  Now it’s my turn to make my way up there again!

Elizabethan Desserts
155 Quail Gardens Drive
Encinitas, CA 92024

3 responses

  1. I’ve been wanting to go here for a long time but I just haven’t gone yet. That PB Wig looks like it’s time for me to go though… I have a serious weakness for peanut butter desserts!

    July 2, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    • May-chan

      It is usually the combination of peanut butter and chocolate that always gets me no matter what.

      July 13, 2010 at 5:59 am

  2. Pingback: Elizabethan Desserts » Jinxi Eats

Leave a Reply

