To feed your body and soul in San Diego and all over the world

An ode to the work life

I was driving to work this morning, quite early actually and as I was radio channel surfing, I found Lady Gaga’s “Bad Romance” playing.  I love this song for different reasons, but mostly because it perfectly sums up my relationship with work.  I don’t exactly recall when this realization dawned upon me, yet once it did, it just all came naturally.

I want your ugly
I want your disease
I want your everything
As long as it’s free
I want your love…

Work, no matter where you go, there’s the good, the bad, and the ugly. My work is no exception to this.  And the work just spreads, like a viral disease that shows small symptoms at first and continues to fester until it consumes you completely.  You think to yourself, “How am I going to survive?!”  Yet, some part of you wants more.  You want more and you want everything.  Somehow, in that delusional state, you believe what you have earned isn’t necessarily free, but you DESERVE it because you’ve suffered (not just worked) for it.

I want you drama
The touch of your hand
I want your leather studded kiss in the sand
I want your love…

Oh the drama loaded situations we work through each and every day, and the things we do to minimize the level of drama is sometimes ridiculous.

The hand of the almighty…aka the powers that are a level above you can make things happen with just a wave of their hand or a mere touch, turns things into gold (figuratively).

…”leather studded kiss in the sand,” well just the sound of this makes me think it’ll hurt.  Just like when I think about things I must do.

I want your horror
I want your design
‘Cuz you’re a criminal
As long as you’re mine
I want your love…

The horrors we have seen our colleagues go through, and the horrors we ourselves have survived through.  I wish I had access to the grand “design” of this path, but where would the fun be?  (You can’t hear my sarcasm, but I can assure you that it’s there.)

This work is criminal for the slow physical, mental, and emotional torment.  However, as long as I am in it and have it, I want your kind of tough love.

I want your love and
I want your revenge
You and me could write a bad romance
I want your love and
All your lover’s revenge
You and me could write a bad romance

No truer words can sum it up than the words of Gaga.

Over the past 2 years, I have worked with some amazing people who have walked the same path as I.  Some have had different experiences, yet majority had the exact experiences.  Each of them have given me words of advice and I take them all to heart.  To sum up the major points…

Enjoy the small things in your life that makes you smile.

Work may feel like it is consuming you, and you may be right, so remember how to enjoy and marvel at the world around you.

For a few seconds, to minutes, to days, to years…it doesn’t matter.  Every instance counts.

Surround yourself with love, open yourself to the world, and you can find some peace amidst the chaos.

It’s still a long road ahead and I have to keep walking on it.  Maybe I need to make another resolution…for my own sanity.  I need to find my peace and I don’t have an answer right now, but I believe I’ll get to it and peace will be there.

Leave a Reply

