To feed your body and soul in San Diego and all over the world

Kansas City – there’s no place like home

Once again, I find myself up in the air wanting nothing more than to come home and nurse my misery of allergies (or maybe I really was just sick). The past week, I was in North Kansas City for work and I guess there’s really “no place like home”.

Kansas City is a mid-west city all around and what can one say? It’s nice, friendly, with lots of open areas and random buildings. All I knew about Kansas City was the one thing I had set my mind towards: Barbeque! So when the guys picked me up from the airport and asked what’s for dinner, naturally I jumped and said, “Barbeque!!”

We headed back into town and straight to one of the only establishments I had heard of before:

Arthur Bryant’s BBQ

I could smell the delicious meats when I stepped out of the car. My mouth salivating and I told myself that I control was in order because I hadn’t even met 3/4th of my team!  Control was so hard…

Once inside, my eyes were a bulged as I looked up at the menu board at the possibilities.  You have to understand…I really, REALLY like barbeque, so I went a little overboard…

That right there is a total of 3/4 lbs of delicious, smoked, tender, practically illegal how meats.  I had 1/4 lb each of (left to right): pulled pork, turkey, and sausage, with a side of baked beans.  My gawd I was in heaven!

Granted, I love Phil’s BBQ in San Diego for the reason that they make a good pull pork sandwich…in San Diego! Pull pork can taste very differently depending on its maker.  And the maker here knows his oinker. The sausage was not my favorite of the 3 since my memories of the smoked sausage I had in Oklahoma City was still fresh in my mind.  The turkey was good too, could have been a little more moist but this time…the sauce really did the trick.  As you will find (while reading on), the Arthur Bryant spicy BBQ sauce was absolutely DELICIOUS.  Omg…never had I wanted more and more of BBQ sauce.  I wanted to have the sauce straight up and drink straight out of the bottle.  However, since I was with other people and in public…my better judgment took over (thank goodness).  Instead I washed it all down with some refreshing sweet tea.

After our first day at work, we were all in need of a good meal (lunches are usually a pretty excuse of a meal most of the time).  During the entire day, whenever I had a client meeting, I would also end by asking for suggestions for dinner.  I had my handful of suggestions and in order to avoid BBQ fatigue, I took a highly recommended local Italian restaurant suggestion.

Garazzo’s

The location of the Garazzo’s that we went to was nestled into a neighborhood and we were wondering if we were going to someone’s grandmother’s house to eat. That would actually be quite interesting and fun, but nope, we finally found the restaurant.

There must have been several parties that night because it was a Monday night, at 8:30pm and the place was still packed. However, I had made reservations and so we were seated in no time. However, we were all starving even before we were seated so thank goodness one of us took the initiative to order us an appetizer to start off.

The garlic bread with cheese was made sliced crusty bread, with melted parmesan, sprinkled with basil. The bread that they used was a little too soft and would have done better with a French loaf, sliced open and then divided into smaller portions. It was still good, but it was nothing exciting.

When I ordered my entrée, our waitress had given me fair warning, “Now you know that our pastas run on the larger side and this one is our largest order on the entire menu.” I merely smiled and silent laughed as if to say, “Don’t underestimate me!” Little did I know the plight I would find myself in later once the plate arrived…

Now this was a true spectacle. This monstrosity was not meant for 1 person to go up against on her own without any backup. Ladies and Gents, this is Garazzo’s “Three Way Pasta”. On a plate that was the size of a steering wheel, we have: tomato sauce, spaghetti, rigatoni, meat ravioli, topped with parmesan cheese and Italian sausage. The plate could have easily weighed about 3 lbs.

The true depth of what awaited me was not fully realized until dug my fork into the gigantic pile of carbs. I think the me on the inside was something like this:

I barely even scratched the surface of this mountain of carbs before I threw in the towel. When I stopped eating, it didn’t even look like I had any of it! How did it taste? It was fine. The pasta was cooked well, the sauce was a little bland and weak, and the Italian sausage left me wanting more. This was one matter of quantity versus quality.

This is why I had to have a dessert to end the meal:

This was not the worst, nor the best Tiramisu I’ve ever had. Oh Garazzo’s, I have a feeling that I would love you more if I had something else from you. Now I will never know…

Our eating and gorging didn’t stop even after our way too filling Italian food from the night before.  (This is mostly due to fair, to sub-par lunches.)  The clients told us that when you’re in Kansas City, the all time question when it comes down to barbeque: Arthur Bryant’s or Gates.  How could I not take up this challenge and find my answer?!

Gates BBQ

This may not seem like a lot of food nor very nutritious, but boy oh boy.  This was good!  I had the ham sandwich with onion rights and iced tea.  In the back is my sampling of Gates’ bbq sauces.  Let’s take a closer look at the star of the tray:

The sandwich was simply 2 slices of Wonder bread with thinly sliced ham and the original sauce.  Normally I don’t like flimsy sandwiches.  I prefer toasted bread or crusty bread, but c’mon!  I’m eating bbq and there’s no place for such things!  The ham was so delicious that it made angry.  Angry that was subjected to mass produced, packaged deli meats that tasted like the meat (if it really was meat) cured in chemicals.  This was a simple ham sandwich and it had me giddy!

As for the answer to the question: who does a better Q? Arthur Bryant’s or Gates?  It was a hard call since I had different types of meats.  However, I can definitely say that I preferred Arthur’s BBQ sauce more than I liked Gates.  So that’s one point more for Arthur than Gates, but I would jump to eat at either one of these establishments anytime.

Unlike Gates, I wouldn’t step foot into this next place.  We had a really, REALLY long day and more to come later that evening.  We stayed on property and tried:

The Range Steakhouse (Harrah’s)

Ugh…now just thinking about this place makes me angry.  Never had a seen a sadder meal than this one.

Scallops are one of my FAVORITE shellfish to eat.  This place practically killed it for me.  Just seeing this picture, thinking back on it, made my head pound in pain and misery.  These babies may not have been the freshest scallops, but the poor attempt to hide it made it even WORSE.  See that orange pool?  It was some sort of a butter bath for a poorly seared scallops. :(…*to the scallops* it’s ok…it wasn’t YOUR fault. Best thing on the plO_Oate?…the mushrooms and the water (you can’t see it in the picture).

After that horrendous meal, I was a bitter person.  I was in a bad mood not only from the course of the day, through many factors plus a terrible meal, I needed something to change it all around.  Thank GAWD there was a savior!

Piropos Restauarnt

One of the guys had gotten a recommendation to this place from the person next to him on the plane.  We all needed a break from the “regular” and this was perfect!  The restaurant was elegant and beautiful.  It was started with nice fresh bread and crisps with 3 dipping sides.

Clockwise from the bottom left: multi-colored peppers and onions in oil, vinegar; chimichuri; and garlic dip.  My favorite of the 3 had to be the peppers and then the chimicurri.  This was a very good start!

I was at an Argentinian restaurant so how could I leave without trying an empanada?!  I had the Empanada del Mar, which was filled with shrimp, scallops and tilapia, with red peppers and onions.  The filling was fresh and it all worked with one another.  It was a small tasting of the ocean on my plate.  My only criticism was the wrapper they used.  It didn’t give me the flaky pastry that I have come to expect for empanadas.  This was more of a wonton/eggroll wrapper that was deep fried.  Trust me, flaky (in a pastry) = goooood eating.

As I had no desire for anymore seafood or pasta at the moment, and I didn’t have the stomach for lamb that evening, I went with the chicken.  Thank goodness their chicken entrees were just as appealing and this one sounded just scrumptious!

Ruedas de Pollo: this was stuffed chicken breast with gouda, ham, spinach, mushrooms, and red peppers.  Served with these rolled chicken of yum, were julienned veggies and rice, all in “argentine” garlic sauce.

My goodness, that sauce was ridiculous.  The flavors were so intense that all I wanted was more of the sauce (even though there was a heavy hand in butter) and rice!  Mmm…so good.  The stuffing for the chicken was great, but the chicken was a little dried out.  However, given how good all the other components were, I could over look the dried chicken.

By this time, I was thoroughly content with everything I had so far.  However, during the entire meal, I had watch waiters walk by carrying a cake and I knew there was no way I would walk away without it.

This my friendly blog reader, is the Pastel de Banana.  A luscious banana cake with a whipped cream cheese frosting, in a pool of crème anglaise, and just because I had to go all out: a special request of a scoop of the vanilla bean ice cream.  The cake was truly a banana lover’s delight because it was packed full of banana flavors.  You could see the specks of the banana that was mashed in order to make this cake possible.  The cake was light and moist, which was not the case with the frosting.  Granted, it was a good whipped cream cheese frosting, but it made the dessert overall too dense.

This could be the dessert for someone, but I had my likes and dislikes.  The ice cream though was great and it really did help lighten the plate.  I really wanted ice cream so I asked our waitress nicely if I could get a scoop even though the dessert did not normally have it. So I ended the night on a wonderful note!  Thank you anonymous flight passenger who gave the suggestion!

This was my time out in Kansas City.  Although my time here was short, I made ever effort to eat beyond my limits.  As we have joked many times in our work: “If you can’t make the ‘cut’, you don’t belong on this team.”  Aka…if you can’t eat like a champ, then you will not last long with this group because we will put you right into a coma. 😉

Arthur Bryant’s BBQ
3 locations in Kansas City, MO

Garazzo’s Ristorante
Multiple locations: 2 each in MO and KS

Gates BBQ
Multiple locations in MO and KS

The Range (Harrah’s)
1 Riverboat Drive
North Kansas City, MO 64116

Piropos Restaurant

4141 N. Mulberry Dr.
Kansas City, MO 64116

4 responses

  1. Wow! what an idea ! What a concept ! Beautiful .. Amazing ? I usually don?t post in Blogs but your blog forced me to, amazing work.. beautiful ?

    October 20, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    • May-chan

      Thank you very much, hope you enjoy reading the rest of the blog! 🙂

      October 25, 2010 at 12:23 am

  2. Gina Eplee

    I have been to the range Steakhouse MANY times and this article is an absolute mis-representation of a GREAT steakhouse. Really great steaks at a great price. The service is also excellent. I am always extremely impressed by the steaks and the seafood. The Manager is awesome and personable as well as the Chef. Shame on this publication for that article. GO BACK AND TRY THE RANGE AGAIN!

    October 29, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    • May-chan

      Gina Eplee – I appreciate that you’re speaking your opinion! I guess you need to know one thing: I don’t eat beef. Given this, even if I were to go back to the Range, I would still not order a steak. The service was good, but from what I’ve seen and tasted on their seafood preparation and execution, when I find myself in NKC, I would rather continue to try other places.

      October 31, 2010 at 12:07 am

Leave a Reply

