To feed your body and soul in San Diego and all over the world

Island Prime – C Level

This is back dated post, but I was going through my files (again) and found the photos from my anniversary pictures with CP.  The pictures are old, yet I recall my meal vividly.

CP had planned it all and surprised me when we drove out to the harbor and ended up at Island Prime – C Level.  We could not have asked for a more perfect day to have lunch by the water.  It was crystal clear, blue skies and the weather was perfectly mild, so it was the first time I was excited to eat in the patio area.

We started the Chicken Pot Stickers:

The menu says it is pan-seared, but it is deep fried.  Not my preferred choice in cooking pot stickers, but these were not bad.  The dipping sauce it came with which was slightly sweet and tangy, decisively addicting and I wanted to dip each bite into the sauce.  The filling of chicken was mixed with finely chopped vegetables was tasty, yet the crunchy skin got in the way of my enjoyment.  My suggestion Deborah Scott?  Try pan frying, it’s much better!

For CP’s entree, he hadthe Blacken Mahi Tacos:

The order comes with 3 tacos of blackened mahi fillets in flour tortillas with shredded cabbage, pineapple salsa, avocado creme, and chipotle aioli.  It also had a side of chile black beans topped with more avocado creme.  I took a bite and the fish was seared just enough to lock in the juices.  The spice rub added a nice kick, but it was not too spicy that would cause a need for a fire hose to dose out the fire.

I kind of wanted to eat more of his tacos, but I knew CP want them so I let him have it :)…because I had my tower:

My tower was layers, upon layers of AWESOME.  From the bottom up: avocado, ahi tuna, crab, papaya-mango salsa, and topped off with shaved carrots.  It comes with taro and plantain  chips, the perfect vehicles for the awesomeness!  The tower was all too overwhelming, but I still tried very hard to get a little of everything in my first bite.

Here’s an up close shot of the insides of the tower:

Look at the layers of fresh seafood and buttery avocado.  Delicioso!  It was like an explosion of the sea’s bounty in one bite.  The tuna was cubed, marinated lightly and smoothly melted in my mouth along with the fresh avocado.  The fresh as the Alaskan crab above it added more sweetness to the bite.  I’ve had my share of seafood, but this tower was truly a mesh of everything I ever loved all together.

The perfect day was paired with the perfect meal.  I would definitely come back as they also have a great happy hour too!  We had a great bike ride around Coronado Island and continued to enjoy our great afternoon.

Thank you babe for this amazing day and more in the years to come. XOXO 🙂

Island Prime – C Level
880 Harbor Island Dr.
San Diego, CA 92101

One response

  1. Ou, it’s good ))

    November 16, 2010 at 10:43 pm

Leave a Reply

