To feed your body and soul in San Diego and all over the world

Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is one of the 3 holidays where majority of my family gather together to break bread.  Or in my family’s case, we break out the noodles!

We’ve always done a potluck style Thanksgiving and everybody brings something different.  There are no restrictions on what we have to bring.  However, a few cousins will almost always bring some of the traditional dishes to the table like: mashed potatoes, candied yams, and of course the turkey!  Granted, we do make sticky rice stuffing instead of the “traditional” stuffing.

I have traditionally contributed my share year after year with a dessert.  In the past, I’ve made brownies, cookies, and even a tiramisu.  I really wanted to make something besides dessert.

Now something to share about myself: I can’t cook.  I can cook to survive, which means that I would rarely want to subject others to food of my own creation.  I cook to eat and survive, but I bake to present and serve to others.  Baking comes so much easier to me because it’s a precise mathematical approach.  And helps that I absolutely love it.

However, I decided that if i had a recipe, I could make anything.  So I made not only a pasta dish, but also a “soup”.   Those 2 did not go over so well sadly.  *sigh…*

My cake on the other hand was a tremendous success.  I made a 4 tiered layered cake with alternating flavors of pumpkin and dark chocolate.  I whipped up some fresh chocolate whipped cream for the filling and used some of the extra ganache to keep the cakes moist.  Finishing off the tower with cream cheese frosting and cake crumbles.

This was my first time making a cake that was more than 2 layers.  I was extremely happy with the results given my first time and this was learning experience.  The cakes were moist and not too sweet, which was perfect because the ganache was the sweet touch.  My whipped cream filling kept it from being too heavy, but let’s be honest.  Look at that puppy…having anything after one’s finished eating everything else for dinner (see below spread picture),  it all becomes quite heavy!

Behold!! Our Thanksgiving dining table converted to a buffet line!  I’ll try to remember what we had exactly starting with the turkey and going counterwise:

Turkey (26 lbs) with sticky rice stuffing with taro; Deviled eggs; Green Beans sauteed in white wine, onion and dried shrimp; Shanghai noodles (center); BBQ short ribs; Spring Rolls; Singapore Noodles; Celery Tofu; Cauliflower Sausage Pasta (from me); Garlic Shrimp; Singapore Noodles; Vegetable Orzo Soup (from me too!); Tea eggs; Mac ‘n Cheese; Candied yam (you can only see the corner of it); Guacamole; and Mashed potatoes with mushroom gravy (not in the shot unfortunately).

And we didn’t even have the other desserts in this picture!  We had a pumpkin pie, pecan pie, and pumpkin cheesecake.  Yeah…when my family eats, we EAT.  By the end of the night, we had still so much food leftoever that everybody just started packing food to go home after some exchanges.

What am I thankful for?  I’m thankful for having great people in my life who help get me through the thick and thin.  And I am thankful for the bounty of food as always.

Hope everyone had a great holiday, cheers!

One response

  1. Leena

    that looks absolutely amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    November 29, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Leave a Reply

