To feed your body and soul in San Diego and all over the world

Where else besides San Diego?…

…can you walk outside during the middle of January, wearing short sleeve shirt and flip flops, in temperatures in the high 70s?

If you live in San Diego, you were met with one of the most wonderful January afternoons ever once you stepped foot outside this weekend.  Considering that I have been craving for ice cream the past 2 weeks, I could not have asked for a better day to go finally satisfy this craving.

I grabbed my friend LA to come with me down to Normal Heights in search of Mariposa Ice Cream.  This ice cream shop has always been within my radar, but just that location wise, it made it a little harder for me to just pick up my car keys and grab ice cream from there.  However, I was determined to satisfy my ice cream craving and I wanted a place to which I had high hopes for.

I had almost passed right by the store,  but there wasn’t any parking in front of the store anyway so I was able to find some side street parking up the block (which is a miracle on some days in this area).  The ice cream shop shares a building with a pizza parlor and Mariposa got the smaller cut of it.  Once you step inside, the tall walls are lined with plenty of photos…some were just random shots while others were about the store.  It make the shop even more homey and I loved it.  The nice lady behind the counter was patient as LA and I tried different flavors and also pointed out that they had more flavors in the back that were not displayed.  See…if they had a bigger shop, then it would be possible for them to actually display all 20+ flavors at any given time, but the ~16 flavors displayed turns out to be some of their best sellers and featured flavors.  Not that I was complaining because everything I tried was amazing smooth and delicious.

There are 2 sizes: Single ($2.50) or Double ($4) in a cup or cone.  For any extra dollar, you can get a waffle cone.  They also have pints packed to-go and you can also have your ice cream in a milkshake/smoothie/float form as well.  However, LA and I were here to have ice cream in its purest form: unadulterated!

After much deliberation, I settled for a Double in a cup with half Peanut Butter Fudge (their featured flavor of the day) and Mexican Chocolate (their signature flavor).

You can’t see the PB Fudge, but what you can see is the Mexican Chocolate.  When it comes to chocolate, I tend to lean towards the bold, intense, and in your FACE dark chocolate flavor. The Mexican Chocolate would not fit into that category at all.  Instead, the flavors were subtle and smooth, yet texturally grainy as Mexican Chocolate tends to be due to the cinnamon and sugar mixed in.  The bittersweet chocolate was only a small note, playing with the cinnamon (nicely) which was not quite in your face either.  It is hard to describe but I would compare this to a chocolate horchata that was not overly sweetened.

The PB Fudge on the other hand was much more in your face flavors.  Here is my attempt to get a picture of the second flavor on the bottom of the cup.  This flavor was a nice, strong peanut butter ice cream base with light swirls of fudge.  Peanut butter has always been my weakness and this ice cream was exactly what I imagine if my jar of peanut butter in the fridge suddenly turned into an ice cold, creamy jar of pure delight.  Now, take some fudge and evenly (I emphasize the evenly because most commercial distributors can’t seem to do this right without going overboard with the fudge) distribute it throughout.  Amazing.

LA went with the single of Mariposa Peanut Butter Finger ice cream.  I got a taste of it and it was nothing like what you would get at the grocery store.  It was subtle, but still a creamy and delicious reminder of Butter Fingers.  LA was really happy with her choice and said that it was one of the best ice creams she had ever had.

We were both happy in the abnormal San Diego heat, eating our ice cream, in the middle of January.

I realized that there is a reason why when people ask me why not move to this city or that city…and that again and again, I smile and reject the idea completely.  If they asked me why?…I would ask them, “Where else can I thoroughly enjoy ice cream during January to COOL me off???”

Mariposa Ice Cream
3450 Adams Avenue
San Diego, CA 92116

Mariposa Ice Cream
3450 Adams Avenue
San Diego, CA 92116
One response

  1. what a great examine.

    January 25, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Leave a Reply

