To feed your body and soul in San Diego and all over the world

Melting Pot Celebration

Not going to lie…I find myself in a slump again.  A writing slump that is.  Somehow, the written word doesn’t inspire me nor does the food I’ve been eating.  Yet, I know my passion for food never really dies out because I can talk about food anytime, anywhere, to anyone. So to prove this and also make my weekly post:

Last weekend, I celebrated the birthday of a very old friend at the Melting Pot in La Jolla.  That afternoon was filled with melted cheese, melted chocolate, and a variety of dippers, with a side of good hearty laughs.

We had 2 cheese fondues for our starters:

Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue – Fontina and Butterkäse cheeses, spinach, artichoke hearts and garlic
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue – Fontina, Butterkäse and Buttermilk Bleu cheeses with white wine, scallions and a hint of sherry

The spinach artichoke was by far the my and the table’s favorite.  It reminded all of us garlic bread (when dipped with bread) and it was the first to disappear.  It wasn’t that the Trio wasn’t good, but it was just not AS good!  There was more depth and flavor for the spinach.  However, I must say though…the Trio went surprisingly well with the granny smith apples.  As odd as that combo sounds (trust me, I was like that too at first) but it’s not as outrageous as you’d may think.  You can find some pie makers putting a slice of cheddar to their apple pie.

The veggies which was available for dipping too was more for us to feel better about ourselves for eating so much melted cheese.

What made me angry was that there was not enough cheese gosh darnit! See that bowl?! It’s deceptive and cunning because this is a double boiler so there’s a shallow bowl sitting on top of that pot.  Now…if that whole pot was cheese…then we’d be talking!

For dessert, we had 2 chocolate fondues:

Cookies ‘n Cream Marshmallow Dream – Dark chocolate topped with marshmallow cream, with crushed Oreo cookies
White Chocolate Creme Brulee – White chocolate and caramelized sugar

I realized that I didn’t get a shot of the dessert dippers, but to dip into these bubbling sugar goodness, we had: pound cake, brownies, cheesecake, marshmallow, pineapple, strawberries, and banana.  I personally would not have chosen the creme brulee fondue because it’s freaking melted white fracking chocolate! I don’t like white chocolate and plus…it’s not even chocolate!! (It’s cocoa butter!)

The dark chocolate fondue on the other hand: O.M.G! Loved, loved, LOVED!  I dipped EVERYTHING in that melted, deliciousness! It was smooth, slightly bitterness, sweet, warm, and coats your whole mouth. Man…now I want chocolate.

By the end of the meal, I was still STARVING and wanted more food.  We needed an actual entree, but this place is great for groups and parties (just don’t go expecting to be filled).  Too bad this place would not be somewhere CP would like since he doesn’t like cheese and not a fan of sweets.

Anyone want to get some melted goodness?? 🙂

Melting Pot
8980 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122

Leave a Reply

