To feed your body and soul in San Diego and all over the world

Village Indian Cuisine

This past week, I met up with my friend, LKB, at an Indian restaurant that she insisted was just as good, if not better, than Punjabi Tandoor.  Now, that’s a bold statement coming from someone who is just as much of a PT fan as I am.  To have her say that to me, made me instantly curious and impatient to taste it myself.

It was actually a place I’ve passed by many times and eaten actually just a few storefronts by it.  This was Village Indian Cuisine in Kearny Mesa.  The restaurant is not big, but it does have more than 3 tables!  So that means you can linger longer and talk long after eating.

The menu is like most Indian restaurants you’ve seen and been to.  Why mess with tradition right?  Especially when you can do it right…and VIC knows their way around the food alright.

We started off dinner with an order of the Paneer Pakora.  The batter was light and it came out with a sprinkling of white pepper.  It was perfect and delicious.  I never had paneer this way and was surprised how much I loved it.  It wasn’t just “like”, it was “love!”  The reason?  Let me get to our entrees because as good as the appetizer was, the entree was what really shone that night.

LKB and I both ordered the tikka masala combo (curry, basmati rice, and roti) – chicken and paneer.  The curry was thick, flavorful, complex, and hearty.  I couldn’t get enough of the curry, but then again, I couldn’t get over how SOFT the paneer was at VIC!  I’ve tried paneer all over San Diego and nothing has come as close as this place.  The paneer just MELTS in your mouth.  I think my eyes rolled back at one point and was lost in the moment.

Village Indian Cuisine’s paneer is the standard I’ll hold all paneers up against.  This restaurant has just officially made it to my permanent rotation and I am already planning my next visit.

Village Indian Cuisine
9187 Clairemont Mesa Blvd. Suite #2
San Diego, CA 92123

One response

  1. It really does sound great.

    December 21, 2011 at 8:00 pm

Leave a Reply

