To feed your body and soul in San Diego and all over the world

Post Thanksgiving/Black Friday Shopping Dinner

After a big meal with the family on Thanksgiving day:

Followed by my latest start to Black Friday shopping at 8am!  That would be usually almost my time that I arrive back home with my bounty.  However, I was using my rational mind for once and told myself, “You do NOT need anything this year!”  I had already bought my big electronic purchase this year – my Sony S Tablet, and that was more than enough.

….so said my rational brain.  Yet, the shop-a-holic in me could not resist the temptations of sales and that was how I found myself out at my first store by 8am.  At that hour, the craziness was winding down and it was much easier to deal with.  Heck…it was my most relaxing Black Friday shopping since I started participating in it about 5 or 6 years ago.

The madness that I heard about (and the wreckage in the aftermath) of this annual event was astonishing.  To think – people were pepper spraying each other so they could have one up on another fellow shopper for a hot ticket item.  Is it really worth it people?

Anyways, after my morning of shopping, I rested in the afternoon with some of the Thanksgiving leftovers, including my Lemon Cream-Cheese Cookies that I made for the dinner.  The cookies were shaped into bows and crumbled and melted in your mouth.  The citrus was refreshing after a heavy meal during Thanksgiving, and is light as a sweet, naughty snack.  These cookies will remain in my permanent fave recipes.

That night, exhausted, I met up with LA for a simple dinner at Chopstix Too.  I needed something that would not remind me of Thanksgiving and this was perfect.

Got an order of my favorite – Crunchy Roll, plus a bowl of Chopstix Too’s Tonkotsu Ramen, since I’ve never tried theirs before.  LA has her order of the Chicken Katsu and Crunch Roll plate.

The Crunchy Roll is just a simple staple that I love and by no means – is my idea of GOOD sushi.  This is the type of sushi you get when you want something that just tastes good, feels like an indulgence, fills you up, and most of all…RIDICULOUSLY CHEAP! ($4.95)  I love it because it’s crunchy (duh), sweet (from the eel sauce and imitation crab meat), spicy (the spicy mayo and my extra shot of siracha),  and carby.

The tonkotsu ramen (sans the green onions, can’t stand green onions) was surprisingly…not too bad!  I was anticipating a disappointing bowl, but I was surprised by it.  The broth was medium strong, good flavors (could use just a little more pork flavor), and it warmed me up during that cold evening.  The ramen should have been more firm, but it wasn’t soggy.  Only a little softer than what I would like my ramen to be.  My one gripe about this whole bowl – the hard boil egg was not the marinaded kind like Tajima’s.  😦  Still…both LA and I enjoyed our simple meal and that night, I slept quite peacefully with the few sale items I did get my hands on and a warm belly.

Hope everyone had a wonderful holiday and shopping adventure!

Chopstix Too
4380 Kearny Mesa Rd
San Diego, CA 92111

Leave a Reply

