To feed your body and soul in San Diego and all over the world

The Red Door

Seemingly appropriate given the holidays are in full swing right now!  It has been the first time in the last three years, that I have truly felt the holidays.  The past three years had been so ridiculously hectic due to my old job, that I rarely got into that holiday spirit.  I have to be honest, I think my spirit was plainly exhausted and maybe even a little jaded.  The work before was not only mentally draining, but physically and most of all – emotionally draining, that when it was time to take some “time off”, all I wanted was to sleep.

This year however, it is totally a different story!  I can FEEL the holidays growing in my bones and I am LOVING IT!! 🙂

Anyways, the reason why I missed last Sunday’s post was because I was celebrating with friends and family all weekend long.  “For what?” You may ask.  Well, it was for my birthday!  Another year older, maybe another year wiser?  Who knows, but I looked back and thought to myself, “Man…what a f***ing year!”

To celebrate with my family, we had a very nice dinner at The Red Door in Mission Hills.

The restaurant is small and cozy.  The decor very much a wine country setup and the main dining room has a full wine rack wall.  Dim lighting really sets the mood for an intimate evening.  I can imagine that during the mornings and afternoons, it is bright and cheery and perfect for a nice, cozy get together.

Now that is enough about the restaurant, let’s get to the real matter of things: the food!

Appetizers:

Signature Cornbread Muffins

Shrimp Creole

I do believe appetizers are suppose to wet your appetite for the main course, but the first course was my absolute favorite part of the meal.  The cornbread muffins are made to order, so the waiter will warn you it takes about 15 minutes for the prep.  Trust me – it’s worth it.  The cornbread is light, fluffy even, with a touch of creaminess from the white cheddar.  The muffins also come with a honey-rosemary butter which just helps the muffin to melt more in your mouth.

Then comes the Shrimp Creole in a white wine and cream sauce, spiced with the flavors of the “Big Easy”.  Though the portion size is small, the flavors are HUGE!!!  A thick tomato sauce filled with smokey, spicy, tang goodness.  I used the fried polenta to mop up more of the sauce, then when there was no more polenta, the cornbread went so well with it.  Man…this place knows how to start off a good meal.

Wild Mushroom Scallop Risotto

Pork "Schnitzel"

Red Door Burger

Garden Vegetable Plate

Red Door Chicken Roulade

The entrees on the other hand…was not memorable.  The scallops were nothing extraordinary.  The Schnitzel was not quite what I knew Schnitzel to be (more like fried pork chops to me).  CP’s burger though looked juicy enough.  My sister’s vegetable plate was as advertised and she liked it.  And the roulade was dry…=\.

I feel like the appetizers set my expectations higher than it should have been because the delivery was there in the beginning!  Yet, Red Door’s entrees barely raised above an “inside voice” level.  The appetizers would be like an opera singer – belting out beautiful notes.  Perhaps the encore would help save a poorly performing middle?

Brownie Sundae

Apple Walnut Cobbler

Well…how should I start off?  The brownie was probably the winner of the two.  It was a DENSE chocolate brownie with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, drenched in fudge.  Definitely quite delicious.  I had a bite and loved it.  The cobbler on the other hand…it was nothing specially about it.  I’ve had much better cobblers and given that my ice cream was FROZEN solid turned me completely off.   One of two, 50/50, those aren’t bad odds at all.  I’ll take that any day!

Red Door is definitely worth a revisit, with different orders.  I would stick with my appetizer choices, but I would try something else on the menu for my entree.  Would I recommend this restaurant?  Yes – I would just stay away from the chicken and scallops…you can get much better elsewhere.

The Red Door Restaurant & Wine Bar
741 West Washington St
San Diego, CA 92103

Leave a Reply

