To feed your body and soul in San Diego and all over the world

Supernatural Sandwiches – The Lair

A few weeks ago, I grabbed a couple of coworkers to go with me to Supernatural Sandwiches new brick and mortar location on Miramar Road.  I was excited to go visit their store front since discovering that they were opening and pretty close to the office.

The restaurant is located pretty far in on the very, very long road and at least for now, there was no sign to indicate where it was.  With the directions in hand, we found a strip mall that had a “Grand Opening” banner over one door.  I just assumed that this was the place and as we drove closer, we could see their sign on the window – Bingo!

Talking with the cashier, all of the sandwiches on their menu can be made into salads too, but I want a sandwich!

20140502_143325

My choice for the first visit was their iconic sandwich – The Siren.  Six plump garlicky shrimps drizzled with aioli, on a little bed of cherry tomatoes, mixed greens, and shredded white cheddar, squeezed into a buttery toasted bun.  Man…this sandwich was good!  I know that as you read through what’s in the sandwich, you may think it would be heavy but it isn’t at all!  It’s light, buttery, a little spice kick to it and makes you lick your fingers after you’ve consumed it.  All sandwiches come with the shrimp chips you see here and those are my childhood addiction.

20140502_143334

In addition to my sandwich, I also got a side of the garlic shrimp fried rice.  It’s not listed on their website, but it’s on their “Sides” menu at the restaurant.  This packed a nice garlic kick and the rice wasn’t too sticky at all.  Although, if it was up to me, I wish there was some chili sauce to go with it to make it spicy.

20140502_143419

My friend opted for their surf n’ turf sandwich – the Chimera.  This sandwich has Korean steak BBQ and those plump shrimps!  Along with a sesame chili aioli and kimchi relish on a buttery toasted brioche bun.  My friend was loving the sandwich and had the same feeling as I did with mine – although it sounds filling, he said he didn’t feel overly stuffed after the decadent sandwich.

And the other coworker friend of mine that day got the Garuda in a salad form.  Unfortunately, I was so busy eating that I forgot to take a picture of her’s.  It was a generous salad portion topped with the Garuda’s Korean BBQ chicken.  She said the chicken was super moist and packed with flavor.

On my second visit with even more coworkers, majority got the Siren and Chimera since we were raving about them after we got back to work the first time.  So I decided to try another sandwich because honestly, I want to try at least 3/4 of the menu!

20140509_121608

 

On the table this time is the Kappa!  (By the way…I love the names of their sandwiches.)  This is basically a grilled cheese with spicy crab!  Now this time, maybe because it is melted cheese that it did feel a little heavier but still by no means, too stuffy.

I love this place and I just wish it was closer to one of the freeways on Miramar.  Even the workers there admit that although the location isn’t ideal, they want to spread the word out to let people know that they are there.  I really hope the word does get out and then maybe they can get a better (second?) location!

Supernatural Sandwiches
7094 Miramar Rd #105
San Diego, CA 92121

http://www.supernaturalsandwiches.com/

Leave a comment